Our Services

Over the years, LDAWC has offered a range of programs including parent support groups, social skills groups for children and a wide range of educational and advocacy activities. The association currently:

  • Publishes monthly newsletters
  • Sponsors many public meetings each year with guest speakers on learning disabilities and ADHD
  • Hosts an annual Family conference to provide information on relevant topics of interest to parents
  • Provides free information to caregivers of children with learning disabilities, and adults affected by learning disabilities
  • Is a member of the Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) of both the Upper Grand District School Board and the Wellington Catholic District School Board to advise on best practices for teaching students with special needs.
  • Can support parents in advocating for their child in IPRC meetings and IEP development
  • Provides a list of tutors and sources for assessment

Who We Are

The Learning Disabilities Association of Wellington County (LDAWC) started in 1973 with Nene Lott, now a lifetime member, as its first president. The Association continues to be a grass roots organization which relies on volunteers to carry out its many functions. The Association does not have a permanent office. The best way to receive support is to email questions or concerns to: info@ldawc.ca

Our mission statement

The Learning Disabilities Association of Wellington County is a charitable, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the lives of children, youth and adults with learning disabilities so that they can reach their full potential. Through outreach, education, advising and advocacy, the Learning Disabilities Association of Wellington County's mandate is to advance the education, employment, social development legal rights and general wellbeing of individuals with learning disabilities.

2015-2016 Board of Directors

Susan Newcombe President
Laurie Few Vice President
Christine MacDonald Treasurer
Sharon Dills Past President
Gabriele Wright Secretary
John Potocksa Board Member
Cheri Herdman Program Coordinator